Middle School Math iPod Touch Blog

Integrating Technology into the Middle School Classroom

A new venture… Response Systems April 3, 2011

Filed under: iPod Touch — msmathteachr1 @ 10:18 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

   Our school system is looking into various response systems for us to use with out iPod Touches. I am interested in this, and of course would like something that does not require a great deal of time spent on preparing questions for the students. I am familiar with Google Forms and think they are very beneficial, although not friendly to math questions that involve fractions. I may have to play with this a bit more and just become more comfortable with it. My students have said they feel it is too hard to see the questions on the small screen of the iPod, even though they have the ability to increase the magnification of the image.  What I do like is the immediate feedback and the ability to view data immediately.

  Tony Vincent has some other suggestions for response systems that I am interested in trying out. Check out his blog and see his suggestions. He has a wealth of information and is kind enough to share it with those of us still learning about the technology.  http://learninginhand.com/blog/four-student-response-systems.html

  So this is my goal for this week; I will try one of the response systems to see how my students and I feel it works out as a formative assessment. I will be sure to let you know how it goes!

 

3 Responses to “A new venture… Response Systems”

  1. Hi Mrs. Wayne,

    I agree that Google Docs are probably not the best for equations. Thanks for link to Tony Vincent’s post. QuestionPress looked like a good one to try for math. I’m adding it to my list of Student Response Systems. Thanks for sharing!

    • Toni Says:

      Thanks for your comment Kristi! I took a few minutes and looked at QuestionPress and I agree it is a good fit for math, and very affordable. I sent an email to my SBO to see if they would consider it as a county purchase, but if not I would certainly try it on my own. Thanks for the information –
      Toni

  2. tjwayne7 Says:

    Kristi-
    Thanks for your comment. I looked into QuestionPress and really like its applications, especially for math. I have asked our SBO if they will subscribe as a county, but if not I can certainly see using this on my own. It is very reasonably priced. Thanks for the suggestion!
    Toni


Leave a Reply

