Middle School Math iPod Touch Blog

Integrating Technology into the Middle School Classroom

Flashcards on Touches March 24, 2011

This sounds easier than it is (for me at least). I was so excited to see Quizlet where there are many sets of ready-made flashcards, or the ability to make your own flashcards. They are not what I would call “user-friendly” when it comes to exporting the flashcards. I searched on the web to find how to get these great cards onto my students’ iPods and found several apps. Unfortunately, the best one was free earlier in the month but is now $4.99. We are not allowed to purchase apps so I am trying to find another route. We do have gflashcards on the iPods, but as far as I can tell students need to download the cards themselves, which means a lot of downtime in my classroom.

If anyone knows how to get these great study tools on the touches, without having to do it individually, please let me know. I know I saw someone’s tweet earlier about it. I will go back and look, but please let me know if you have a suggestion. I feel like the flashcards are just telling me “catch me if you can” because they are just out of reach of being extremely helpful in my classroom.

Flashcards

 

2 Responses to “Flashcards on Touches”

  1. lincoln whitaker Says:

    Toni,
    I have found a couple of flashcard type apps that work on the i-Pads. I don’t know if they would work for you, but several apps will work on both the i-Pod and i-Pad. You may want to look at Flash Cards Deluxe Lite or FlashCards Plus. I’m not sure if they are exactly what you are looking for, but I thought I would pass them along.

  2. Lincoln Whitaker Says:

    Toni I just found a cool website that you can make flashcards or search out some that others have made. It is called Quizlet.com I signed up for the free account earlier. I didn’t know if this is the kind of thing you could use on the i-pods, but I’m sure you could use it on the MacBooks.


Leave a Reply

