Middle School Math iPod Touch Blog

Integrating Technology into the Middle School Classroom

Making Integers Fun! February 9, 2011

  It was really great using the i-Pod Touch in class today to give students an opportunity for instant feedback when working with integers. One of the apps (Signed…Lite) gives various levels of quizzes offering excellent differentiation and immediate feedback for the students and the teacher. Other games like Pearl Diver and Zeroes offer learning in a fun game so students hardly realize they are learning. But, they really want to make the high score board so they do their best. This is great. I hope one day I can have the opportunity to see how apps are made.

 

6 Responses to “Making Integers Fun!”

  1. Bedwards Says:

    Working with integers this week as well. Check out this YouTube video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZYHjT0m_iyQ

    • tjwayne7 Says:

      I do use the addition part of the song, but my kids sing it. We like it a little faster than the video. I don’t use the subtraction song though. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Darlene Says:

    It was great to read your idea for some of the apps usage in the classroom. The ipods are such a great addition to our teaching.
    I chose to comment on your blog also, because you used wordpress and I was interested in how it worked and looked compare to blogger. I like it! It seems cleaner and uses the whole screen whereas blogger leaves white edges and just seems a little more cluttered. Thanks for trying something different!

  3. Georgeanne Says:

    Great website! Your word press site looks much better than the site’s overview when I was shopping around for blog sites. I am trying to get my student teacher to use the touches in the classroom. I will let him know the great work you are doing with them!

  4. Matt Says:

    I agree with Darlene. This site looks great and has a more open feel than other blog services. Thanks for the suggestions on Pearl Diver and Zeroes. I will check them out. Check out these two videos on differentiation with the iPod touch: http://gameslab.radford.edu/iLearn/search-results.html?keystring=differentiation

    • tjwayne7 Says:

      Thanks for the comment. I just watched the differentiation video and agree. One of the greatest benefits of most apps is the ease of differentiation. I feel guilty sometimes as a teacher, knowing I need to differentiate more, but not knowing where I can find the time to plan for differentiation. Many apps do this for us. I am so thankful for the iPods touch.


Leave a Reply

